UKIP Scotland announces candidates for the upcoming Holyrood elections

Published Apr 01, 2016

coburn-graphic(1).pngUKIP Scotland have announced the 26 candidates it will be putting forward for the Holyrood elections next month. This is our best range of candidates ever, and proves we are a diverse and welcoming party that will ‘stand up for anyone that stands up for Scotland.’

Announcing the candidates, Leader of UKIP, Nigel Farage said: "I am delighted with the strength, breadth and depth of our list for the Holyrood elections. I am certain that this team, led by David Coburn will break into Holyrood and provide a voice of serious opposition to the stale political consensus in Edinburgh. An over-powerful executive needs real opposition, and UKIP in Scotland will provide that."

UKIP’s MEP and Leader of UKIP Scotland, David Coburn said: "We are ready, and raring to go. UKIP will be contesting this election with a belief that our message of proper independence, fiscal responsibility and driving power away from the politicians into the hands of the people who matter, ordinary men and women across Scotland will resonate with the voter.

"Nobody else is prepared to speak for those left behind, nobody is prepared to point out that a strong Scotland in a strong free United Kingdom is the best way to secure the interests of Scotland and her people.

"Our list turns the propaganda against us into dust.

"It proves that UKIP values everyone, regardless of race, sexuality, gender, disability or social status.

"If you fight for Scotland, you fight for UKIP."

The full list of candidates can be found below:

Central Scotland
• Neil Wilson
• Donald MacKay
• Mathew Williams
• Janice MacKay
• Jamie Robertson
• John Ferguson
Highlands and Islands
• David Coburn
• Les Durance
• George King
• Philip Anderson
• Alan Melville
• Stuart McLuckie
• John Shaw Stewart
Mid Scotland and Fife
• Colin Mitchelson
• Jack Jardine
• Sean Cameron
North East Scotland
• Calum Walker
• Emily Santos
• John Stephen
South of Scotland
• Kevin Newton
• Caroline Santos
• Oluf Marshall
• John Stanyer
West of Scotland
• Sharon McGonigal
• Michael Burrows
• Robert Malyn

Agree? Share!