Gareth Bennett wins UKIP Welsh Assembly Group Leadership Election

Breaking News

UKIP Party Chairman Tony McIntyre in his role as Deputy Returning Officer announces that of the 876 Wales UKIP members, the total number of votes cast was 514 making it a turnout of 58.7%

The result in full:

Gareth Bennett received 269 votes (58%)

Neil Hamilton received 193 votes (42%) 

Caroline Jones was eliminated in the first round having received 130 votes.

Tony McIntyre said:

"I, therefore, declare that the members have elected Gareth Bennett to be Leader of the UKIP Group in the National Assembly of Wales."

UKIP Leader Gerard Batten commented:

"I wish to extend my congratulations to Gareth Bennett. I now expect all elected members in Wales to work together for UKIP‘s cause and to get on with the job.